

# TIOGA COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH

# MEETING MINUTES MARGH 21, 2019 APRIL 18,

## ATTENDEES:

BOARD MEMBERS:	T. Hills, DVM, Vice-President; R. Kapur-Pado, DO; T. Nytch, DVM; M. Hawley, K. Millar, W. Standinger III, Legislator, J. Raftis, DO,
	E. Haray-Butcher
ABSENT:	J. Picco, DDS, President
STAFF:	L. McCafferty, R.S., MPH, Public Health Director

Call to Order: 7:35 a.m. Dr. Hills chaired the meeting.

#### INTRODUCTION OF GUEST

Todd Kopalek, Supervising Public Health Sanitarian, was introduced.

#### ADDITIONAL ITEMS

Completion of Annual Policy Review & Disclosure Statement, Corporate Compliance Review. Reminded some still missing. Please submit soonest.

#### OLD BUSINESS

- Meeting Minutes: Minutes of March 21, 2019, meeting were sent electronically to Members for review. Motion to approve minutes made by Kevin Millar; seconded by Maureen Hawley; all in favor, motion passed.
- 2) Enforcements: reviewed.

#### PRESENTATION

Todd Kopalek presented on inspections and enforcements, had a handout. Questions about various programs – food, water, expanded into surface water, CAFOs, farming practices.

#### NEW BUSINESS

- 1) Consensus for ad hoc committee to review legalization of marijuana issue, provide advisory report to Legislature. Dr. Hills, Dr. Nytch, and Erica Haray-Butcher will serve on committee.
- 2) Lisa McCafferty presented request for endorsement of Floyd Hooker grant, as well as for any additional efforts to secure funding for Child Passenger Safety (CPS) program. Motion to approve blanket support for CPS initiatives made by Kevin Millar, seconded by Dr. Kapur; all in favor, motion passed.

### **INFORMATIONAL**

- Agency Updates March 2019: Dental van discussion on future funding for replacement unit, Value Based Payment forecast and impact on service delivery, Pertussis, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Rankings.
- 2) Board requested card acknowledging the dental crew and their efforts to make new dental mobile unit a reality.

Meeting adjourned at 8:46 a.m.; Minutes respectfully submitted by Lisa McCafferty. Minutes approved May 16, 2019:

Joseph Picco, DDS, President

Lisa C. McCafferty, R.S., MPH; Secretary

c/o Tioga County Department of Health ~ 1062 State Rt. 38 ~ PO Box 120 ~ Owego, NY 13827