Legislature

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827

Martha Sauerbrey Chair 🕓 607 687 8240 🖨 607 687 8232 💿 🛛 😵 www.TiogaCountyNY.com

<u>Tioga County Legislative Worksession Minutes</u> <u>February 20, 2020 – 10:00 a.m.</u>

Legislators Present:

Legislator Balliet Legislator Hollenbeck Legislator Mullen Legislator Roberts Chair/Legislator Sauerbrey Legislator Standinger (arrived at 10:03 a.m.) Legislator Sullivan Legislator Weston

Legislators Absent:

Legislator Monell

<u>Guests:</u>

Matt Freeze, Reporter, Morning Times

Staff Present:

County Attorney Peter DeWind Legislative Clerk Cathy Haskell Deputy Legislative Clerk Cheryl Heffernan Personnel Officer Bethany O'Rourke (arrived at 10:14 a.m.) Agricultural Development Specialist Megan Griffiths (departed at 10:06 a.m.) Public Health Director Lisa McCafferty Sheriff Gary Howard Republican Commissioner of Elections Bernadette Toombs (departed at 10:12 a.m.)

Call Meeting to Order -

Chair Sauerbrey called the meetings to order at 10:00 a.m.

10:00 A.M. - Public Health NYS CDBG Grant for Project Tioga Mobile Dental Van -

Legislative Clerk Haskell read the legal notice for today's public hearing regarding the current New York State Community Development Block Grant project Tioga Mobile Dental Services. Legislators Balliet, Hollenbeck, Mullen, Roberts, Sauerbrey, Sullivan and Weston attended with Legislators Monell and Standinger being absent.

Public Health Director, Lisa McCafferty was present to reply to any questions, concerns or comments.





Legislator Mullen stated for the record, "They did a fantastic job getting that done and it was something desperately needed and thank you for your efforts. It's a massive improvement."

Ms. McCafferty thanked Legislator Mullen.

Public Hearing adjourned at 10:02 a.m.

10:05 A.M. - Annual Agricultural District Inclusion Requests –

Legislative Clerk Haskell read the legal notice for today's public hearing regarding annual agricultural district inclusions. Legislators Balliet, Hollenbeck, Mullen, Roberts, Sauerbrey, Standinger, Sullivan and Weston attended with Legislator Monell being absent.

Agricultural Development Specialist, Megan Griffiths was present to reply to any questions, concerns or comments.

Legislator Balliet inquired, what is this all about?

Ms. Griffiths responded she received two requests this year for addition to North Tioga Agricultural District. Both parcels are in the Town of Newark Valley totaling 110.8 acres which have been determined viable agricultural land.

Public Hearing adjourned at 10:07 a.m.

<u> Third Special Legislative Meeting –</u>

Chair Sauerbrey called the Third Special Legislature Meeting of 2020 to order at 10:10 a.m. to appoint a Budget Officer Committee and Legislature consideration of two resolutions.

<u>Appointment: Budget Officer Committee -</u>

Chair Sauerbrey reached out via e-mail inquiring who would be interested in participating on the Budget Officer Committee. Chair Sauerbrey received responses from Legislators Roberts, Balliet, Hollenbeck and County Attorney Peter DeWind to makeup the committee.



Legislature Consideration of the Following Two Resolutions -

- ✓ Authorize Donation of Vacation Days (Board of Elections)
- ✓ Approve Salary Above Hiring Base for Correction Officer (Sheriff's Office)

Special Meeting adjourned at 10:16 a.m. with regular worksession immediately following.

Approval of Worksession Minutes – February 6, 2020 -

Legislator Sullivan motioned to approve the February 6, 2020 Legislative Worksession minutes as written, seconded by Legislator Hollenbeck with Legislators Balliet, Hollenbeck, Mullen, Roberts, Sauerbrey, Standinger, Sullivan and Weston voting yes and Legislator Monell being absent. Motion carried.

Action Items -

Currently, there are no action items.

Other -

None

Executive Session –

With no confidential topics of discussion, an Executive Session was not necessary.

Meeting adjourned at 10:18 a.m.

Next Worksession is scheduled for March 5, 2020 at 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, *Cheruf Heffernan* Deputy Legislative Clerk